7 Massachusetts Laws Motorcycle Riders Or Bikers Need To Be Aware Of

2 Aug 2023  •  2 min read

While every state has its own individual motorcycle laws for riders to abide by, Massachusetts is no exception. As riders pass over the beautiful landscape, it is important that you follow the rules and regulations to ensure maximum safety on the open roads. Our attorneys at InjuredBikerLaw are no different, as we love to ride and take in the scenery around us. If you’ve been in a motorcycle accident, you need an experienced motorcycle accident attorney to help you get the compensation you deserve. 

1. Helmet Law:
Massachusetts has a strict helmet law, and every rider and passenger is required to wear a helmet that meets the requirements from the U.S. Department of Transportation.

2. Eye Protection:
Riders are required to wear protective eyewear such as goggles or a face shield unless the motorcycle has a windshield.

3. Handlebar Height:
In Massachusetts, handlebars cannot exceed the shoulder height of the rider as excessively tall handlebars can be dangerous for riders.

4. Loud Exhaust:
The Massachusetts law states that a motorcycle can not exceed a limit of 82 decibels when traveling at a speed of 45 miles per hour or less, and a motorcycle can not exceed a limit of 86 decibels when traveling at a speed faster than 45 miles per hour.

5. Lane Splitting:
Lane splitting (riding a motorcycle between lanes or rows of slow moving or stopped traffic moving in the same direction) is extremely dangerous and a common cause of many motorcycle accidents. Lane splitting is illegal in many states, and Massachusetts is no exception. Lane splitting is prohibited in the State of Massachusetts.

6. Motorcycle License:
A class M motorcycle driver’s license is required for riders to operate a motorcycle in the State of Massachusetts. However, if you want to drive a car as well, you can get a motorcycle endorsement on your existing license. You will be required to pass a vision test and a motorcycle road test to obtain your license.

7. Insurance Requirements:
Motorcycle riders are required to carry liability insurance to cover bodily injury and property damage. The minimum liability coverage limits are:

  • Bodily injury to others: $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident.
  • Property damage: $5,000 per property.
  • Bodily injury due to uninsured motorist: $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident.

Due to the severity of injuries that can arise from motorcycle accidents, it is encouraged that riders go beyond the minimum insurance requirements. If you’ve been in a motorcycle accident, our attorneys at InjuredBikerLaw have the experience and knowledge to get you the money you deserve.

Back to Resources

Don't Ride Alone

Bring InjuredBikerLaw.comTM with you on all your motorcycle rides. You never know when you might need representation to get the justice you deserve and get back on the road.
Contact us Today
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram